Search This Blog

Monday, May 30, 2016

[BT] Phish 12/31/95 Madison Square Garden, New York, NY AKG 391 (new source to circulation)

Madison Square Garden
New York, NY

**16 bit/44.1khz**

Source: AKG se300b/ck91 > Tascam DA-P1 > Sony D5
Transfer: master cassettes > Nakamichi DR-1 > Sound Devices 722 (24 bit / 48 kHz) > .WAV > Reaper v5.18 (splices, fixes) > SoX v14.4.2 (speed adjustments, resample to 44.1 kHz, dither to 16 bit) > flac16 (level 8) > xACT 2.37 > .WAV > Sound Studio 3.6(fades, normalize peak, +gain, track)>
xACT 2.38 (align on sector boundaries, encode, tag, fingerprint)>flac16 (level 8 )
Source taper: Jared Hooper
Patch taper: Dave Lisuch
Edits and processing by: Jason Sobel
Initial transfer, processing and seeding by: Lenny Stubbe

Set I: (1:14:29)

01. intro
02. Punch You In the Eye
03. Sloth
04. Reba
05. Squirming Coil>
06. Maze
07. Colonel Forbin>
08. Mockingbird
09. Sparkle
10. Chalkdust Torture

Set II: (1:08:57)

01. intro
02. Drowned>
03. Lizards
04. Axilla II>
05. Runaway Jim
06. Strange Design
07. Hello My Baby
08. Mike’s Song>
09. Digital Delay Loop jam

Set III: (1:12:59)

01. Phish Time Factory machine NYE countdown
02. Auld Lang Syne>
03. Weekapaug Groove>
04. Sea and Sand
05. You Enjoy Myself
06. Sanity
07. Frankenstein

08. encore break
09. Johnny B. Goode

- Reba did not contain whistling
- Colonel Forbin contained an incomplete version of the song “Shine” by Collective Soul featuring Phish Lyricist Tom Marshall on lead vocals
- Colonel Forbin narration discussed how Phish makes time in the Phish Time Factory
- Weekapaug is unfinished
- Dave's Energy Guide tease by Page in Mike's Song
- Auld Lang Syne, Dreaming (Blondie) and Spooky teases in Weekapaug
- Trey teases Shine in Runaway Jim
- Subtle and unconfirmed Fire on the Mountain tease towards the end of Drowned
- Third set opened with the Phish Time Factory machine. All four band members dressed as scientists playing with synths while lights flashed and Van de Graaff generators zapped. Fish was lifted up in a bed as Father Time and was reborn as the Baby New Year
- First performance of Sanity since June 24, 1994 (147 shows)
- Trey thanks the audience for a "great year" before the encore
- Widely considered one of the greatest Phish shows ever performed
- Thanks to for many of the setlist notes

All edits below completed by Jason Sobel:

speed adjustments / resampling to 44.1 kHz / dither to 16 bit using SoX 14.4.2
set 1a = 3.61% longer
set 1b = 3.86% longer
set 2a = 3.60% longer
set 2b = 3.90% longer
set 3a = 3.95% longer
set 3b = 4.05% longer

splices/fixes using Reaper v5.18

patch source = shnid 24707 (Schoeps cmc6/mk41 > Oade Deluxe > Tascam DA-P1 @ 48kHz  by Craig Hillwig)

patch source used at the following spots

Set 1
[46:51] to [47:02] - end of Maze / start of Colonel Forbin's

Set 2
[23:51] to [23:52] - fix a glitch in Axilla
[43:48] to [43:48] - very end of Runaway Jim.  Mostly crowd noise splice.

Set 3
[48:15] to [48:25] - just before start of YEM vocal jam
[66:13] to [67:34] - all crowd noise during encore break

seeded to etree on: 05/30/16

No comments:

Post a Comment

moedeadphish, it's what we do...

important links...


Recordings available on the Live Music Archive:

Recordings available via Bit Torrent on etree:

Live Music List in Excel Format:


A few of my reviews from years past:

Phish 10/7/94 Stabler Arena, Bethlehem, PA

Phish 11/4/94 Onondaga War Memorial, Syracuse, NY

Phish 11/29/03 The Spectrum, Philadelphia, PA


Edited and published Page 683:

Internet Archive - Collection: etree